Europe Solidaire Sans Frontières > English > Europe, Great Britain > Russia & Eastern Europe > In solidarity with Stanislav Markelov

## In solidarity with Stanislav Markelov

Wednesday 21 January 2009, by Collective / Multiple signers (Date first published: 21 January 2009).

We express our shock and indignation about the foul assassination of Stanislav Markelov, a lawyer and member of the movement Al'ternativy, untiring advocate for the rights of the homeless, on the streets of Moscow for the sole reason that he was about to give a press conference against neofascism in Russia. We alterglobalists in Germany, Europe and all over the world consider the fight against neo-fascism one of the main pillars and goals of all our social struggles - against war, against social and environmental devastation, in favour of progress in the developing countries, and for the victory and constant expansion of democracy. Our thoughts are with Stanislav Markelov, who bravely stood up against the fascist curse and fell victim to it, his family, friends and the movement Al'ternativy, together with whom we shall carry on the torch of the other, the human and social world, where such a crime would be unthinkable.

## First Signatories:

Carla Krüger (Left Party and attac Berlin), Mirek Prokes (Initiative for Social Fora, Czechia), Raffaela Bolini (Arci, Italia), Pierre Rousset (Europe solidaire sans frontières, ESSF), Matthias Reichl (press speaker, Begegnungszentrum für aktive Gewaltlosigkeit), Olivia Hahn (Aktionswerkstatt Jena), Mariangela Casalucci (Collettivo Bellaciao Grecia), Ewa Ziolkowska (president, attac Poland), Didier Loufrani (Commission Europe d'Attac Toulouse), Josu Egiren (ESK - Trade Union, Basque Country), Yannis Almpanis (Network for Political and Social Rights, Greece), Elisabeth Gauthier (Espaces Marx and Transform! Paris), Hannelore Tölke (German Peace Council), Antoine Pécard (ATTAC Lille), Vicki Morris (No Sweat and Alliance for Workers' Liberty), Piran Azad (activist, Berlin), Dimitris Tsoukalas (Federation of Greek Bank Employees), Emilia Tsira (Federation of Greek Bank Employees), Marco Berlinguer (Transform Italia), Maxime Combes (CEDETIM, IPAM, France), Christine Buchholz (National Executive, DIE LINKE, Germany) Henri Paraton (ATTAC Lyon), Nikos Tavris (Greek Social Forum), Alex Callinicos (Professor of European Studies, King's College, London), Mike Arnott (Dundee Trade Union Council), Ching-Ling Wang (Ph.D candidate, Berlin), Carsten Riggelsen (scientist, Berlin), Hans J. Wagner (retired, Berlin), Sylvia Müller (employee, Berlin), Thomas Winkler (employee, Berlin), Dietmar Kesting (engineer, retired, Berlin), Dr. Ruth Bock-Luna (scientific collaborator, THE LEFT in the Federal Parliament, Berlin), Sascha Kimpel (The Left, Working Group Business and Trade Unions, Berlin), Brigitte Rechenberg (accountant, Berlin), Olaf Gerlach (IG Metall, THE LEFT, Berlin), Susanne Klunker (attac Osnabrück), Monique Dental (Réseau Féministe "Ruptures"), Eduard von der Wal (activist, Berlin), Edwin Fischer (activist, Berlin), Wolfgang Wettach (GREEN candidate to the European elections and attac), Sophie Zafari (FSU, France), Paul-Emile Dupret (lawyer, European Parliament), Matyas Benyik (Hungarian Social Forum, president attac Hungary), Annie Pourre (réseau NO VOX), Tord Björk (Swedish Social Forum and Friends of the Earth, Sweden), Alessandra Mecozzi (FIOM-CGIL, Italy), Cesare Ottolini (coordinator, International Alliance of Inhabitants), Natasa Theodorakopoulou (Synaspismos Greece), Yannis Sifakakis (Stop the War Coalition, Greece), Petros Constantinou (Campaign Genoa 2001, Greece), Panos Garganas (Socialist Workers' Party and editor, Workers' Solidarity, Greece), Thanis Diavolakis (Anticapitalist Left), Evgenia Kouniaki (Committee against EU agreement on asylum and refugees), Boguslav Zietek (Free Trade Union, August 80), Dariusz Zalega (editor Tribuna Robotnicza), Alexandra Strickner (Attac Austria), Rahul Patel (London campaigner for migrant workers and Unite against Racism, London, UK), Oya Acan (Revolutionary Proletariat), Mikael Böök (activist, Finland), Cécile Gondard (SUD, PTT, France), Thierry Lescant (Trade union

Solidaires), Joel Borgstrom (Left Student's Union, Lund), Christophe Aguiton (ATTAC France), Stefan Bekier (Trybuna robotnicza, Poland, activist NPA, Cergy, France), David Avila (activist, Portugal), Akis Gavriilidis (activist, Greece), Annick Coupé (Trade union Solidaires, France), Merlin and Team ESF Activists' News Agency, Gérard Halie (Mouvement de la Paix, France), Asbjörn Wahl (Norwegian Union of Municipal and General Employees), Endre Simó (Hungarian Social Forum), Christian Tirefort (membre de la coordination Forum Social Suisse, Geneva, Switzerland), Pierre Bernocchi (COBAS, Italy), Eric Aragon (Association Convoi Syndical), Judith Dellheim (Zukunftskonvent, Germany), Jonathan Neale (Campaign against Climate Change, Britain), Josep Bel Gallart (sindicato co.bas, España), Dr. Filip Ilkowski (Institute of Political Science, Warsaw University), Andrzej Zebrowski (Pracownicza Demokracja), Dr. Hildegard Jurisch (Attac Erlangen), Abu Rayhan Al Beeroonee (IAI Solidarity), Rome Chastanet (IFE-EFI Initiative Féministe Européenne), Michel Rousseau (Euromarches), Joseph G. Jones (Gypsy Council, Thames Valley, UK), Loukia Kotronaki (Network for Political and Social Rights, Athens), Achim Rollhäuser (Network for Political and Social Rights, Athens, Greece), Didier Brisebourg (Attac Evry), Luigia Pasi and Bruno Ciccaglione (SdL Intercategoriale, Italy), Anne-Marie Malinge (Europe Coordination of World March of Women), Monika Neuner (YHRM - Berlin), Frédéric Viale (ATTAC France), Christophe Ventura and Bernard Cassen (Mémoire des Luttes), Malgorzata Swiatek (EFI Poland), Michel Christian (ATTAC Lyon), Peter Damo (Association for the Development of the Romanian Social Forum, ADFSR, Romania), Claude Lavalle (Attac Paris), Nathalie Marcu (Les Alternatifs, France), Petros Constantinou (Campaign Genoa 2001, Greece), Yannis Sifafakis (Stop the War Coalition, Greece), Panos Garganas (SEK, Solidarity editor, Greece), Thanis Diavolakis (EN.ANTI.A, Greece), Evgenia Kouniaki (Committee against agreement on asylum and immigration of EU, Greece), Josep Bel Gallart (sindicato co.bas España), Mohammad Basir-ul Hag Sinha (Secretary General, Democratic Labor Party, Bangladesh), Ricardo Gómez (Attac España), Ellie Cijvat (Friends of the Earth, Sweden), Michael Youlton (CAEUC Dublin), Christine Marcellin (Attac Hellas), Jean-Paul Lainé (FSU-France), Petre Damo

(Association for the Development of the Romanian Social

Forum), Nathalie Marcu (Les Alternatifs France), Michael Pröbsting (League for the Fifth International), Natassa Theodorakopoulou (Greek Social Forum), Haris Golemis (Nicos Poulantzas Institute [Greece]/ Transform), CADTM Belgium, Jean-Marie Harribey and Aurélie Trouvé (co-présidents, Attac-France), Eric Decarro et Christian Tirefort

(members of the coordination for the Swiss Social Forum), Evi Zaimi (OTOE, Greece), Olivier Besancenot, Alain Krivine et Roseline Vachetta (LCR, France)...

## **Update:** January 24, 2009.