Europe Solidaire Sans Frontières > English > Asia > Philippines > Mindanao (Philippines) > Bangsamoro Political Entity (Mindanao) > **BARMM (Philippines): Marcos names, presides over oath-taking of Bangsamoro (...)**

BARMM (Philippines): Marcos names, presides over oath-taking of Bangsamoro officials

Friday 12 August 2022, by CUPIN Bea (Date first published: 12 August 2022).

MILF chairman Ahod Balawag Ebrahim stays on board as interim chief minister as President Marcos finally names members of the BTA.

MANILA, Philippines – Officials of the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) took their oath on Friday, August 12, at Malacañang Palace.

In a closed-door event inside the Palace, President Ferdinand Marcos Jr. himself led the oath-taking of Chief Minister Ahod Balawag Ebrahim and other interim members of the Bangsamoro Transition Authority (BTA).

Also in attendance were top Palace officials – Executive Secretary Vic Rodriguez, Special Assistant to the President Anton Lagdameo and the two heads of Congress, Senate President Juan Miguel Zubiri and House Speaker Martin Romualdez.

The President's son, Ilocos Norte 1st District Representative Ferdinand Alexander Marcos, who is also senior deputy majority leader, was also present and posted photos of the oath-taking on his official social media accounts.

According to Rodriguez, UN Resident Coordinator Gustavo Gonzales, also came.

Eighty individuals were named as members of the BTA. Of the 80, 41 are nominees from the Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) while 39 are from the government. The MILF spearheaded negotiations that led to the creation of the BARMM and, according to the Bangsamoro Organic Law, is tasked to head the BTA.

The BTA, convened in 2019, was supposed to end on June 30, 2022 with the election of BARMM parliament members during the May 2022 elections. But the 18th Congress and the previous administration of former president Rodrigo Duterte extended the transition period to 2025, citing delays in the transition process, partly due to the pandemic.

Members of the BTA hail from Maguindanao, Lanao del Sur, Lanao del Norte, Sulu, Basilan, and Tawi-Tawi, the Bangsamoro community from North Cotabato, indigenous groups who are not Moro, the Kagan community from Davao Oriental, as well as Christian communities from Davao and Cotabato City, according to the BARMM.

While the BARMM has released the list of the 80 persons who make up the BTA, the Palace itself has yet to release the list of BTA members.

The full list of BTA members under the new Marcos administration, according to a release from the BARMM, are as follows:

- 1. MR. AHOD BALAWAG EBRAHIM
- 2. MR. ABDULLAH EBUS GAYAK
- 3. MR. ABDULLAH BISTON HASHIM
- 4. ABDULLAH GOLDIANO MACAPAAR
- 5. ABDULRAOF ABDUL MACACUA
- 6. ABDULWAHAB MOHAMMAD PAK
- 7. AIDA MACALIMPAS SILONGAN
- 8. AKMAD INDIGAY ABAS
- 9. ALI OMAR SALIK
- 10. ALI BANGCOLA SOLAIMAN
- 11. AMROUSSI AMPUAN MACATANONG
- 12. ANNA TARHATA SUMANDE BASMAN
- 13. BAI MALEIHA BAJUNAID CANDAO
- 14. BAILENG SIMPAL MANTAWIL
- 15. BASIT SARIP ABBAS
- 16. BENJAMIN TUPAY LOONG
- 17. DAN SALA ASNAWIE
- 18. EDDIE MAPAG ALIH
- 19. EDUARD UY GUERRA
- 20. HARON MUHAMMAD ABAS
- 21. HUSSEIN PALMA MUÑOZ
- 22. IBRAHIM DUMARAAG ALI
- 23. KADIL MONERA SINOLINDING. JR
- 24. LANANG TAPODOC ALI. JR
- 25. MARJANIE SALIC MACASALONG
- 26. MARY ANN MADROÑO ARNADO

- 27. MATARUL MATARUL ESTINO
- 28. MOHAGHER MOHAMMAD IQBAL
- 29. MOHAMMAD SHUAIB YACOB
- 30. MOSBER ENTOL ALAUDDIN
- 31. MUDJIB COMPANIA ABU
- 32. PANGALIAN MACAORAO BALINDONG
- 33. RAISSA HERRADURA JAJURIE
- 34. RAMON ALEJANDRO PIANG SR.
- 35. SAID ZAMAHSARI SALENDAB
- 36. SAID MANGGIS SHIEK
- 37. SHA ELIJAH BIRUAR DUMAMA-ALBA
- 38. SUHARTO SANDAYAN ESMAEL
- 39. SUWAIB LATIP ORANON
- 40. TAWAKAL BUGA MIDTIMBANG
- 41. UBAIDA CASAD PACASEM
- 42. ALI MONTAHA DATU HARON BABAO
- 43. HATIMIL ESMAIL HASSAN
- 44. MUSLIMIN ASALIM JAKILAN
- 45. ALBAKIL DASANI JIKIRI
- 46. FAISAL GUIABAR KARON
- 47. OMAR YASSER CRISOSTOMO SEMA
- 48. ADZFAR HAILID USMAN
- 49. ABDULKARIM TAN MISUARI
- 50. NURREDHA IBRAHIM MISUARI
- 51. DENMARTIN ABDUKAHIL KAHALAN
- 52. ABDULAZIZ MANGANDAKI AMENODIN
- 53. HAMID UDDIN MALIK
- 54. TARHATA MATALAM MAGLANGIT

- 55. RANDOLPH CLIMACO PARCASIO
- 56. LAISA MASUHUD ALAMIA
- 57. RASOL YAP MITMUG, JR.
- 58. BAINTAN ADIL AMPATUAN
- 59. JOSE IRIBANI LORENA
- 60. NABIL ALFAD TAN
- 61. SUHARTO MASTURA AMBOLODTO
- 62. DON MUSTAPHA ARBISON LOONG
- 63. AMILBAHAR SADDALANI MAWALLIL
- 64. RASUL ENDEREZ ISMAEL
- 65. SUSANA SALVADOR ANAYATIN
- 66. ROMEO KABUNTALAN SEMA
- 67. FROILYN TENORIO MENDOZA
- 68. ISHAK VELOSO MASTURA
- 69. ALI BALAYMAN SANGKI
- 70. NABILA MARGARITA PACASUM PANGANDAMAN
- 71. DIAMILA DISIMBAN RAMOS
- 72. JOHN ANTHONY LACBAO LIM
- 73. HASHEMI NUR DILANGALEN
- 74. SITTIE FAHANIE SINDATOK UY-OYOD
- 75. JAAFAR APOLLO MIKHAIL LINTONGAN MATALAM
- 76. BASSIR DIMAUKOM UTTO
- 77. KHALID MA-AMPOR HADJI ABDULLAH
- 78. MICHAEL ENIT MIDTIMBANG
- 79. MOHAMMAD KELIE UGALINGAN ANTAO
- 80. PAISALIN PANGANDAMAN TAGO

There was <u>uncertainty</u> over the composition and status of the BTA in the first few days of the Marcos administration. Interim officials decided they'd stay put as they waited for Malacañang to clarify Memorandum Circular No. 1, which "declared vacant certain positions in the departments, offices,

agencies, and bureaus in the executive department... effective noontime of 30 June 2022."

MC 1 has since been supplanted by Memorandum Circular No. 3, which extends the terms of officers-in-charge until the end of 2022.

In late July, a group that <u>claimed to be ad-hoc officials and members of the MILF</u> called on Marcos to replace the BTA members, led by Ebrahim or Chairman Murad, the MILF chairman. Marcos also <u>made no mention of the BARMM</u> during his first State of the Nation Address.

Bea	C_{11}	nin
Dea	υu	DIII

P.S.

- AUG 12, 2022 4:47 PM PHT: https://www.rappler.com/nation/mindanao/marcos-jr-names-leads-oath-taking-bangsamoro-officials/
- Bea Cupin is a senior multimedia reporter who covers national politics. She's been a journalist since 2011 and has written about Congress, the national police, and the Liberal Party for Rappler..