Open letter for the overturning of section 377 of the Indian Penal Code

Monday 18 September 2006, by Collective / Multiple signers (Date first published: 15 September 2006).

Open letter by Vikram Seth and others

To build a truly democratic and plural India, we must collectively fight against laws and policies that abuse human rights and limit fundamental freedoms.

This is why we, concerned Indian citizens, support the overturning of Section 377 of the Indian Penal Code, a colonial-era law dating to 1861, which punitively criminalizes romantic love and private, consensual sexual acts between adults of the same sex.

In independent India, as earlier, this archaic and brutal law has served no good purpose. It has been used to systematically persecute, blackmail, arrest and terrorize sexual minorities. It has spawned public intolerance and abuse, forcing tens of millions of gay and bisexual men and women to live in fear and secrecy, at tragic cost to themselves and their families. It is especially disgraceful that Section 377 has on several recent occasions been used by homophobic officials to suppress the work of legitimate HIV-prevention groups, leaving gay and bisexual men in India even more defenceless against HIV infection.

Such human rights abuses would be cause for shame anywhere in the modern world, but they are especially so in India, which was founded on a vision of fundamental rights applying equally to all, without discrimination on any grounds. By presumptively treating as criminals those who love people of the same sex, Section 377 violates fundamental human rights, particularly the rights to equality and privacy that are enshrined in our Constitution as well as in the binding international laws that we have embraced, including the International Covenant on Civil and Political Rights.

Let us always remember the indisputable truth expressed in the opening articles of the Universal Declaration of Human Rights that "All persons are born free and equal in dignity and rightsŠEveryone is entitled to all the rights and freedoms set forth in this Declaration, without distinction of any kind."

We will move many steps closer to our goal of achieving a just, pluralistic and democratic society by the ending of Section 377, which is currently under challenge before the Delhi High Court. There should be no discrimination in India on the grounds of sexual orientation. In the name of humanity and of our Constitution, this cruel and discriminatory law should be struck down.

Sincerely,

Vikram Seth, author, Swami Agnivesh, Nitin Desai, former UN Under Secretary-General, Aditi Desai, sociologist,

AND

Rukun Advani, Author/Publisher MJ Akbar, Editor-in-Chief, Asian Age & Deccan Chronicle Ashok Alexander Kanti Bajpai, Headmaster, The Doon School Kaushik Basu, Professor of Economics, Cornell University Shyam Benegal, internationally-acclaimed film director and Member of Parliament, Rajya Sabha Prashant Bhushan, advocate, Supreme Court, and civil rights activist Urvashi Butalia, author, publisher and activist Uma Chakravarty, Vedic scholar Shoma Choudhury, Tehelka Purnendu Chatterjee, Chairman, Chatterjee Group Nandita Das, award-winning actress and activist Mahesh Dattani, playwright, Sahitya Akademi Award 1998 Devika Daulet-Singh, photographer John Dayal, Member, National Integration Council, Govt of India

Shobhaa De, best-selling author and columnist Astad Deboo, choreographer & dancer

Darryl D'Monte, environmental journalist & author

Dilip D'Souza, author and journalist

JB D'Souza, former Maharashtra Chief Secretary and Bombay Municipal Commissioner (IAS retd)

Neela D'Souza, writer

Bharat Dube, Counsel, Richemont Group S.A.

Barkha Dutt, award-winning anchor and journalist, NDTV $\,$

Mallika Dutt, Breakthrough, National Citizen's Award 2001

Rajiv Dutta, President, Skype

Rehaan Engineer, actor

Naresh Fernandes, Editor, Time Out Mumbai

Meenakshi Ganguly, Human Rights Watch

Amitav Ghosh, author, Sahitya Akademi Award 1990

Sagarika Ghosh, author, and CNN-IBN

Ramachandra Guha, Social Anthropologist, Historian

Ruchira Gupta, activist and Emmy-winning journalist

Syeda Hameed, Member of the Planning Commission

Yazad Jal, Praja Foundation and blogger

Ashok Jethanandani, editor, India Currents

Ruchir Joshi, writer

Sudhir Kakar, psychoanalyst and author

Mira Kamdar, author, Senior Fellow, World Policy Institute

Sanjay Kapoor, Vice President, Raytheon Integrated Defense Systems

Girish Karnad, Playright, Actor

Sujata Keshavan, Graphic Designer

Soha Ali Khan, actor

Sunil Khilnani, Director of South Asian Studies, Johns Hopkins

Amitava Kumar, writer, Professor of English, Vassar College

Radha Kumar, author and professor Jamia Millia Islamia

Jhumpa Lahiri, author, Pulitzer Prize 2000

Ruby Lal, Assistant Professor of South Asian Civilizations, Emory University

Rama Mani, Geneva Centre for Security Policy

Ajay K. Mehra, Director, Centre for Public Affairs

Suketu Mehta, author, Kiriyama Prize 2005

Nivedita Menon, Department of Political Science, Delhi University

Shomit Mitter, author

Dinesh Mohan, professor, Indian Institute of Technology

Sophie Moochala, businesswoman

Shubha Mudgal, vocalist, Padmashree Award 2000

Ashish Nandy, political psychologist and sociologist

Mira Nair, internationally acclaimed film director

Derek O'Brien, author and television guiz master

Onir, film director, My Brother Nikhil

Pankjaj Pachauri, Senior Editor, NDTV

Gopika Pant, Partner, DSK Legal

Gyanendra Pandey, Distinguished Professor of Arts

and Sciences, Emory Unviversity

Kirit Parikh, Member, Planning Commission

Vibhuti Patel, journalist

Sanjay Pradhan, Director, Public Sector Governance, The World Bank

Rahul Ram, Indian Ocean band

Debraj Ray, Julius Silver Professor of Economics, New York University

Aruna Roy, Mazdoor Kisaan Shakti Sangathan, Ramon Magsaysay Award 2000

Arundhati Roy, Activist and Author. Booker Prize 1997

Sandip Roy, Editor, New America Media and Trikone Magazine

Sanjoy Roy, managing director, Teamwork Films

Rajeep Sardesai, editor-in-chief CNN-IBN

Madhu Sarin, psychoanalyst

Sumit Sarkar, social historian

Tanika Sarkar, historian and Professor, Jawaharlal Nehru University

NC Saxena, former Secretary Planning Commission

and Rural Development, and Director, LBS National

Academy of Administration

Dayanita Singh, photographer

Sreenath Sreenivasan, Professor, Columbia Graduate School of Journalism

Vidya Subrahmaniam, Deputy Editor, The Hindu

Nandini Sundar, Professor, Delhi School of Economics

Tarun Tahiliani and Sal Tahiliani, designers

Tarun Tejpal, editor and founder of Tehelka

Dolly Thakore, theatre personality

Tilotamma Tharoor, Humanities Professor, New York University

Laila Tyabji, Chairperson, DASTKAR

Nilita Vachani, documentary-maker, President's Award 1992

Ruth Vanita, author and professor, U of Montana

Siddharth Varadarajan, Deputy Editor, The Hindu

Jafar Zaheer, Air Vice Marshal (retd, Param

Vishist Seva Medal), and Mrs Rafath Zaheer

Shama Zaidi, script writer and film maker

Soli Sorabjee,

Captain Lakshmi Sahgal,

Siddharth Dube,

Subashni Ali,

Satish Gujral,

Sudhir Kakar,

Saleem Kidwai,

Sonal Mansingh,

Kuldip Nayar,

Vir Sanghvi,

Mrinalini V Sarabhai,

Aparna Sen,

Admiral RH Tahiliani (retd),

BG Verghese

(Listing of institutional affiliations does not imply that these organizations necessarily endorse this statement)

P.S.

^{*} Circulated by South Asia Citizens Wire | September 15, 2006 | Dispatch No. 2288.