Britain: People’s Assembly Against Austerity – A call

, by Collective

This is a call to all those millions of people in Britain who face an impoverished and uncertain year as their wages, jobs, conditions and welfare provision come under renewed attack by the government. With some 80% of austerity measures still to come, and with the government lengthening the time they expect cuts to last, we are calling a People’s Assembly Against Austerity to bring together campaigns against cuts and privatisation with trade unionists in a movement for social justice. We aim to develop a strategy for resistance to mobilise millions of people against the Con Dem government.

The assembly will provide a national forum for anti-austerity views which, while increasingly popular, are barely represented in parliament. A People’s Assembly can play a key role in ensuring that this uncaring government faces a movement of opposition broad enough and powerful enough to generate successful co-ordinated action, including strike action. The assembly will be ready to support co-ordinated industrial action and national demonstrations against austerity, if possible synchronising with mobilisations across Europe. The People’s Assembly Against Austerity will meet at Central Hall, Westminster, on 22 June (register at

Tony Benn President, Coalition of Resistance

Len McCluskey General secretary, Unite the Union

Mark Serwotka General secretary, PCS

Christine Blower General secretary, NUT

Michelle Stanistreet General secretary, NUJ

Manuel Cortez General secretary, TSSA

Billy Hayes General secretary, CWU

Bob Crow General secretary, RMT

Mick Whelan General secretary, Aslef

Kevin Courtney Deputy general secretary, NUT

Paul Mackney Former general secretary Natfhe (now UCU)

Vicky Barrs NUS union development

Kevin Donnelly Trade Union Council JCC

Caroline Lucas MP

Katy Clark MP

Jeremy Corbyn MP

John McDonnell MP

Murad Qureshi London assembly member

Dawn Butler Former Labour minister for young citizens and youth engagement

Tariq Ali Author

John Pilger Journalist

Ken Loach Filmmaker

Owen Jones Writer

James Meadway Senior economist, New Economics Foundation

Wendy Savage & John Lipetz Keep our NHS Public

John Hendy QC Co-chair, People’s Charter

John Hilary Director, War on Want

Sam Fairbairn National secretary, Coalition of Resistance

Imran Khan Solicitor, co-chair, People’s Charter

Rachael Newton People’s Charter

Romayne Phoenix Chair, Coalition of Resistance

Zita Holbourne Co-chair, Black activists rising against the cuts

Clare Solomon Vice-chair, Coalition of Resistance

Andrew Burgin Vice-chair, Coalition of Resistance

Colin Hampton Co-ordinator, National Unemployed Workers Centres Combine

Anita Wright Secretary, National Association of Women

Joginder Bains Association of Indian Women

Shang Gahonia Indian Workers Association

Carolin Jones Director, Institute of Employment Rights

Lindsey German Convenor, Stop the War Coalition

Kate Hudson General secretary, CND

Bruce Kent Peace campaigner

Lee Hall Playwright

Roger Lloyd Pack Actor

Josie Long Comedian

Iain Banks Author

Arthur Smith Comedian

Roy Bailey Folk singer

Francesca Martinez Comedian

John Rees Counterfire editorial board

Natalie Bennett Leader of the Green Party England and Wales

Fred Leplat Socialist Resistance

Robert Griffiths General secretary, Communist Party of Britain

Bill Greenshields Chair, Communist Party of Britain

Richard Bagley Editor, Morning Star